Congratulations to ASPB’s 2022 Award Recipients

ASPB is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2022 awards, which honor distinction in service, outreach, education, and research.


Adolph E. Gude Jr. Award

Beronda Montgomery, Michigan State University


Charles Albert Shull Award

Lucia Strader, Duke University


Charles Reid Barnes Life Membership Award

Peggy Lemaux, University of California, Berkley


Charles F. Kettering Award

Christine Foyer, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom


Early Career Award

Emily Josephs, Michigan State University


Enid MacRobbie Corresponding Membership Nominees

Corresponding Member status is conferred by election on the Society’s annual ballot. This honor, initially given in 1932, provides life membership to distinguished plant biologists outside the United States. The following individuals have been nominated this year:

  • Nicolas Smirnoff, University of Exeter
  • Tzyy-Jen Chiou, Academia Sinica
  • Andreas Schaller, University of Hohenheim


Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award

Thelma Madzima, University of Washington


Excellence in Education Award

Thelma Madzima, University of Washington


Fellow of ASPB Award

Erich Grotewold, Michigan State University
Georg Jander, Boyce Thompson Institute at Cornell University
Jiming Jiang, Michigan State University
Pamela Ronald, University of California, Davis
Yunde Zhao, University of California San Diego, La Jolla


Lawrence Bogorad Award for Excellence in Plant Biology Research

Manajit Hayer-Hartl, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry


Robert Rabson Award

Berkley Walker, Michigan State University


Stephen Hales Prize

Xinnian Dong, Duke University, Durham


Award winners will be presented and celebrated at Plant Biology 2022, taking place in Portland, Oregon, July 9-13, 2022.



2 thoughts on “Congratulations to ASPB’s 2022 Award Recipients”

Leave a Comment