ASPB Names 2020 Award Recipients

ASPB Names 2020 Award Recipients

ROCKVILLE, MD – The American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2020 awards, which honor distinction in research, education, outreach, and service.

Charles Albert Shull Award
Zachary Lippman, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor

Charles F. Kettering Award
Donald Bryant, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Charles Reid Barnes Life Membership Award
Brian Larkins,
University of Arizona, Tucson
Donald Ort, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Early Career Award
Christine Scoffoni, California State University, Los Angeles

Enid MacRobbie Corresponding Membership Nominees
Corresponding Member status is conferred by election on the Society’s annual ballot. This honor, initially given in 1932, provides life membership to distinguished plant biologists outside the United States. The following individuals have been nominated this year:

Hitoshi Sakakibara, Nagoya University, Japan
Asaph Aharoni, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Hsou-min Li, Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Excellence in Education Award
Tammy Long, Michigan State University, East Lansing

Fellow of ASPB Award
Diane Bassham, Iowa State University, Ames
Michael Blatt, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Clint Chapple, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
Sheng Luan, University of California, Berkeley
Donald R. McCarty, University of Florida, Gainesville
Sarah Wyatt, Ohio University, Athens

 Lawrence Bogorad Award for Excellence in Plant Biology Research
Alice Cheung,
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Stephen Hales Prize
Julian Schroeder, University of California, San Diego

Leave a Comment