ASPB Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Several distinguished plant scientists – all of them members of the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) – have been elected as members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Five ASPB members were elected to this year’s NAS class:

New members:

  • Julia Bailey-Serres; director, Center for Plant Cell Biology, and professor of genetics, department of botany and plant sciences, University of California, Riverside
  • Bonnie Bartel; Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, department of biosciences, Rice University
  • James J. Giovannoni; research molecular biologist, Agricultural Research Service, Boyce Thompson Institute, Cornell University
  • Mary Lou Guerinot; professor, department of biological sciences, Dartmouth College
  • Krishna K. Niyogi; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; faculty scientist, physical biosciences division, DOE-Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; and professor, department of plant and microbial biology, University of California, Berkeley

These plant biologists are among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates just elected.  There are now 2,291 active NAS members and 465 foreign associates.  Please join us in congratulating them.


Leave a Comment