Plant Scientists Elected To This Year’s Class of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

Several plant scientists have been elected as members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. These plant biologists are among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates just elected.  There are now 2,290 active NAS members and 475 foreign associates.

The following were elected to this year’s NAS class:

  • Dominique Bergmann; professor, department of biology, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
  • Donald R. Ort; research leader and Robert Emerson Professor, USDA/ARS Global Change and Photosynthesis Research Unit, departments of plant biology and crop sciences, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Craig S. Pikaard; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation; and distinguished professor of biology and molecular and cellular biochemistry, department of biology, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Douglas W. Schemske; John Hannah Distinguished Professor, department of plant biology, Michigan State University, East Lansing
  • Douglas E. Soltis; distinguished professor, Florida Museum of Natural History, University of Florida, Gainesville

ASPB extends its sincerest congratulations to these outstanding plant scientists.

Leave a Comment