ASPB Names 2021 Award Recipients

The American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 awards, which honor distinction in research, education, outreach, and service.

 ASPB Innovation Prize for Agricultural Technology
Carla Yerkes,
Corteva Agriscience, Indianapolis, Indiana

Charles Albert Shull Award
Adrienne Roeder, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York

Charles Reid Barnes Life Membership Award
Bob Goldberg, University of California at Los Angeles

Dennis R. Hoagland Award
Patrick H. Brown, University of California, Davis

Early Career Award
Troy Magney, University of California, Davis

 Enid MacRobbie Corresponding Membership Nominees

Corresponding Member status is conferred by election on the Society’s annual ballot. This honor, initially given in 1932, provides life membership to distinguished plant biologists outside the United States. The following individuals have been nominated this year:

Naomi Ori, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Shu-Hsing Wu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award
Katherine M. Murphy, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, Olivette, Missouri

Excellence in Education Award
Rupesh Kariyat,
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Edinburg

Fellow of ASPB Award
Kent Chapman, University of North Texas, Denton
Robert Ferl, University of Florida, Gainesville
Stacey Harmer, University of California, Davis
Beronda Montgomery, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Marisa Otegui, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Martin Gibbs Medal
Jeff Dangl, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Stephen Hales Prize
Detlef Weigel, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Tübingen, Germany

# # #

ASPB is a professional scientific society, headquartered in Rockville, MD, that is devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences worldwide. With a membership of some 3,000 plant scientists from throughout the United States and around the world, the Society publishes two of the most widely cited plant science journals, The Plant Cell and Plant Physiology, and co-publishes the Open Access journal Plant Direct. ASPB also hosts the annual Plant Biology conference; supports plant science outreach, engagement, and advocacy; and powers the Plantae digital ecosystem for plant scientists. For more information about ASPB, please visit Also follow ASPB on Facebook at, on Twitter @ASPB, and on LinkedIn at

Leave a Comment