2015 Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award Winner: Dr. Joe Louis

Dr. Joe Louis, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska

Dr. Joe Louis is recognized for his significant contributions to the field of plant insect interactions, as well as for his demonstrated excellence in outreach, public service, mentoring and teaching. Joe’s research work has shown that specific elicitors delivered by insects are recognized by plants to induce innate defense mechanisms. His research publications are in high impact journals, and these publications have excellent citation records. Joe has trained and mentored many students from high school through PhD level, and he has taken multiple leadership roles in outreach activities. He has been very active in scientific society activities, and he has organized many symposia at several national and regional meetings. For his significant contributions at different stages of his career, he has received many awards from different organizations.

Honors will be presented at the Plant Biology 2015 meeting in Minneapolis. You can read the full list of 2015 ASPB awardees on the ASPB website.

About the Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award
The Eric E. Conn Young Investigator Award, first given by the Society in 2011, honors Eric E. Conn’s contributions in plant biology by recognizing young scientists who will be inspired to follow in his footsteps.  The award recognizes not only outstanding research but also demonstrated excellence in outreach, public service, mentoring, or teaching by plant scientists at the beginning of their careers.  This award is a monetary award made biennially for demonstrated commitment by a member of the Society who is not more than five years post-PhD on January 1st of the year of the presentation.  It also provides one year membership to the Society.



Leave a Comment